“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships into the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message. You are not alone.”

Roald Dahl

Squishy Minnie Bookstore

Squishy Minnie is a children and young-people’s independent bookstore celebrating creativity, community & the wonders of reading! We’re located in the beautiful country town of Kyneton, only 60 minutes north of Melbourne.

This bookshop is the childhood dream of Kristen, who as a 12 year old decided that eventually, when she got old, she would open a bookstore. She’s not quite old yet (although her 12 year self may argue with that), but the time seemed ripe to give this bookshop business a go. It seemed appropriate, as a kind of tribute to 12 year old Kristen that the bookshop has a focus on children and young adult books.

The goal of Squishy Minnie is to be a part of the community and to offer something unique to the Macedon Ranges, a way to complement what is already here (many wonderful book shops and libraries!). Kristen has always loved books – the stories, the characters and the wonderful paper they’re made out of – she wants to share that love with each and every young person (and adult!) that comes in through Squishy Minnie Bookstore’s doors.

Popular Blog Posts

Happy Sunday

Happy Sunday! How gorgeous was that rain last night? Our little vegie patch looks so happy this morning .We’re open until 2pm today and the shop is looking ever so fabulous in preparation for the epic week ahead:.- On Tuesday evening the very fancy Young Adult fiction authors Will Kostakis and Shivaun Plozza will be …

Auslan/English Bilingual Storytime

Auslan/English Bilingual Storytime – this morning at 10.30am .We still have a few spots left for our first ever Auslan/English storytime this morning, so pop past if you’re around.Join Lucky and our Auslan interpreter Pauline as they read Kitchen Disco, Please Mr Panda and The Wolf The Duck and The Mouse..No prior knowledge of Auslan …

Author Event – Shivaun Plozza + Will Kostakis

Author Event – Shivaun Plozza + Will Kostakis – Tuesday 28th November 6.30pm. We are absolutely thrilled to be hosting Young Adult Fiction authors Shivaun Plozza and Will Kostakis. They popped into the shop earlier in the year and let me tell you, not only are they talented (and hardworking) authors, they are both absolutely …

El Deafo

We added the enchanting El Deafo to our graphic novel section recently. Filled with warmth and humour, the story hits you right in the heart from the get go. Based on the childhood experiences of author/illustrator Cece Bell who as a child developed meningitis and lost her hearing, the graphics and text are gripping from …

Open until 8.30pm Thursdays in November

Open until 8.30pm tonight .Whoop whoop! Only this week and next week until our late night Thursdays are all over with!.If you’re out and about for a stroll this evening, or you want to get out of the city for some country air, pop past and say hello. The little shop is filled to the …

Member of

Squishy Minnie Bookstore acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land, the Dja Dja Warrung people, on which our bookstore is located. We pay our respects to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander elders, both past and present and future.

  • No products in the cart.